The Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award

 

The surprise highlight of my morning!

My morning was just recently given an awesome boost when I checked my blog to find that Tobin Elliot over at Left to Write gave me the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award.  Thanks so much, you have no idea how much I appreciate it.

So, following the rules, here’s seven things about myself,

1. I’m a Christian and my faith is very important to me.  I accepted Christ when I was 5, and since then I’ve spent a lot of time growing in my faith.

2. I’m the oldest of seven home schooled kids and every one of my siblings is simply awesome.  Being that our ages range from almost 16 (me!) to just turned 2, we are all very…..uniquely strange in comparison to each other, but we also seem to all be clones of each other.  It’s an interesting dynamic.  =)

3. I’m obsessed with the Beatles.  Along with a few other bands I LOVE the Beatles.  Ever since I was about four months old, my parents could always get me to behave by playing their music.  I love the uniqueness of their music, and the artistry in it.  It fascinates me.

4. I can’t stand writing. It’s miserable, hard and kind of painful.  Why do I keep doing it?  Because there’s a difference between writing because I have to, and writing because I NEED to.  If there’s inspiration involved writing is beautiful and amazing.

5. Many of my friends call me Bria because I write her so much.  What’s sad is that it doesn’t even phase me, I respond the same.

6. Writing aside, my best talent is in computers.  It’s not that unique, I’m part of the computer generation after all, but I’m pretty good with them.  My hobby is in graphic/web design.  When I was 12 I taught myself HTML, although until maybe a year ago I was barely able to work well with it.  I do a lot of photoshopping, photo manipulations, and some other various stuff in graphic design.

7. I’ve only been writing since Christmas.  Well, *really* writing that is.  I’ve been on on off dreaming up ideas, writing three pages of them and scrapping them since I was 8.  But until Christmas I never wrote anything worth reading and my mom thought the only reason I would try was that my brother would occasionally try.  Now look at me!  I’m so obsessed and addicted to writing I can’t go a day without scribbling *something*.

* * * * *

Okay, that was strangely revealing on me….now that I think about it.  Now that’s out of the way, I don’t really have 15 people that I can think of right now…..gosh I’m pitiful at this.  I’m calling the excuse of a ton of homework and not enough time and doing only 10 people.  I’m sure I’ll miss someone that I want to send it to, but I can’t work on this right now.

1. BeKindRewrite – Your blog is amazing, I’m always referring to it to find stuff out about writing.

2. Kay Camden – More awesome writing and fantastic tips!  Your blog is fun to explore.

3. Jeremy Thurston – You’re a great writer, I can’t wait to see your book in stores someday.

4. My Words Whisper – Love your blog!  Your stories are so much fun to read.

5. Scribbla – Your ‘scribbles’ are so full of talent, they amaze me.

6. Indigo Spider – Wow.  That’s all I can say.  You’re a superb writer.  Your stuff just amazes me.

7. Marantha Janelle – Your blog is fun to read through and you always have encouragement when I need it.  Thank-you.  =)

8. Find An Outlet – Your blog is always full of something new that’s interesting and I love reading your InMon posts.

9. Mike – Your writing is awesome and your short stories, flash fiction, and everything else are so cool.

10. Billie Jo Woods – LOVE your stories!

About Jinx

I'm a writer, what else is there to tell?

13 thoughts on “The Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award

  1. Pianolover1114 says:

    “we are all very… Uniquely strange” Yeah we are! Dare to be different! Just kidding. I’m actually very offended. VERY much so.

    Any way, kudos! It’s cool to see how much you’ve grown in you writing since you started writing because of me. (you can’t denie it. You know it’s true. :P) so congrats!

    • Jinx says:

      I did NOT start writing because of you. I started writing because of the Hunger Games.

      And you know you aren’t offended so don’t try and tell me you are.

  2. Thanks Jinx! I live just outside of Liverpool now, home of the Beatles.

  3. Dear, sweet, oh-so-talented Jinx, you have so much talent contained within your heart and soul, I just pray you live long enough…maybe about a millions years…to have enough time to set at least half of it free.

    Sweetie, I want you to know I was not ignoring you in the slowness of my response to your wonderful gift and the acknowledgment of the honor you paid me in presenting me with the award, it is simply that I had hernia surgery on May twenty fourth and have been pretty much zoned out on pain meds, so haven’t really been “functional” but marginally.

    My poor brain feels about as stitched together as my tummy is…which, given that I saw the surgery site for the second time when my home health nurse changed the bandage the second day…was shocked to find that it is held together by staples no less! (Hmmm…I guess they thought I had “some pages loose”!)

    And man oh man oh man, I am sooooooooooo NOT looking forward to when they pull those itchy little things out!

    And hey, you mention that you like designing things and playing with computers, welllllllllllllllllllllll…if you have open office org or ms word, i could show you a few little “tricks” you can do with them that definitely ARE NOT your standard boring documents!

    And a few other little “magic” tricks you can do with programs, since you are a writer, you more than likely have and use pretty much every day…

    Like using the Gimp paint program to open a pdf file and then changing the pages to images…

    Or using the Adobe Reader little camera icon to copy and paste pages from the A.R. to the windows paint program to create jpg images of the pages.

    And that is just a small taste of what I could teach you to do with some of those programs.

    I have loads of time on my hands, so I “play” with and “explore” the computer and the programs that I currently have.

    And speaking of exploring, email me at words2ponder@gmail.com and I will try to get you the links for two really wickedly cool html tutorial sites that are absolutely free!

    One of them, Iron Spider, is actually a web page building tutorial! In fact, this fifty three year old is checking it out while I am more or less “derailed” from my current work in progress due to having problems focusing past the pain.

    I am even now setting up a blog in response to the award that you so generously and sweetly found it in your heart to honor me with. As soon as I get it finished, I will put the link on here, for there will be something on there for you as well.

    Wishing you all of heaven’s most wonderful blessings, dear sister in Christ,

    Marantha

    • Jinx says:

      Thank-you so much for your kind words. They are much appreciated. =)

      I do have Word, and I’d love to hear your tips. I don’t use GIMP anymore, although I used to. I now have the CS5 Master Collection at Adobe so it kind of trumped any previous programs I’ve used. They’ve been well worth it for me.

      I’ll definitely email you, I want those links. I’m not the strongest in HTML, although I have done websites before, I need to learn some CSS before I can do anything nice.

      Thanks again for all your sweet words and I hope you feel better soon. =)

  4. I have something for you on my page https://1wordywoman.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/jinxed-but-in-a-totally-wickedly-bad-awesome-way/

    I hope you will like it, for you are deserving of it and it is my honor to present it to you.

    marantha jenelle

  5. JINX, IF YOU ARE ONLINE RIGHT NOW, AND GET THIS, PLEASE EMAIL ME RIGHT AWAY SO I CAN GIVE YOU MY PRIMARY EMAIL ADDRESS, AS THE ONE I AM ABOUT TO GIVE YOU IS MY AUXILIARY THAT I USE FOR POSTING TO TRY TO CUT THE CHANCES OF SOMEONE GIVING ME A VIRUS. I HAVE MCAFEE ANTI-VIRUS, SO ANYTHING I SEND YOU WILL BE SAFE.

    EMAIL ME AT words2ponder@gmail.com

    I AM WAITING. AND IF YOU HAVE YAHOO MESSENGER, THAT WOULD BE EVEN BETTER, FOR WE COULD “REAL TIME” CHAT AND COMPARE NOTES.

    I MEAN YOU NO HARM, I TRULY ONLY SEEK TO HELP.

    MARANTHA

    “HAVING BEEN WOUNDED MYSELF I AM ALL THE MORE HESITANT TO WOUND.”

    MARANTHA JENELLE/AMBER MICHELLE

  6. Jinx, you are awesome. Thank you.

    Also, I think we’re kindred spirits.

    Also, you and your brother remind me of Podkayne and Clark Fries from Heinlein’s Podkayne of Mars…but that’s probably only because I just finished reading it for the fourth or fifth time.

    Also, kudos to your parents! The world needs more homeschoolers.

  7. well…. Thats interesting…… I myself am a bible student. I have been one for many years, since i was a child. I am the youngest and i too am homeschooled on penn foster. I am fascinated with history. thats four things I reckon, lets see… I have studied a variety of martial arts for 13 years, since I was 5, mainly judo, aikedo, and kung fu. My dream is to one say study under a grand master in japan. I can speak Italian, and bad english, 🙂 I come from a long line of scottish kings and american soldiers. though being born in america, I gave been stripped of noble rights and would only be an ‘honored guest’ of my families castle. I hate and love to write. more evaluation on that later. I am quite the night owl, usually up until around two or three in the morning, always because im writing lol. I grew up in california and virginia, amd I worked on my unkles horse rance every summer for six years. I think thats enough for now, although its good to get to know you a little better. Thanks for reading my blog, I truly appreciate your comments and your help in everything. thank you.

  8. Jinx says:

    Hahaha I’m up until 2-3 all the time for the same reason.

Leave a Reply

