Inspiration Monday XVI

A completely weird, just for fun piece that I wrote. Thought I’d show it to you all as my Inspiration Monday piece of the week. =) I couldn’t think of a title for it so this is a nameless piece off of Outstretched Fingers (yeah my own prompt) and Unmentionable.
* * * * *

B-E-E-P!!! B-E-E-P!!!

Feet down, head off of my pillow. Stand, shuffle to my closet. Pull out my faded coveralls. Put on the coveralls. Wait for the black light to turn on for us.

My name is Myrial Jinks, and I live in a world that has no light.

The Lantern switches on and all of us girls in year twenty-five finish strapping our coveralls, clicks sounding as we press the button, each signaling that we are dressed and ready for the day. Shuffle on through the muck until breakfast at precisely 7:15am. I braid my hair while we walk across town to the dining hall.

My world is orderly, never late, never early. Always the same. Every morning, children in years 0-3 are in the nursery, while children of years 3-10 attend school. Years 10-15 are at work in the mines, producing power so the black light will glow for us every morning. Those of us that are in the higher years, years 15 – 25, are being trained. I do not know what for, but they are being trained. I am being trained.

All of us file into a long,dim and grimy building where we are given a plate of very slimy oats and old coconut milk. Eating it is a tasteless, rubbery affair that we repeat every day. It used to make me throw up. But since I was three years old I have eaten this same stuff every single morning. I loathe slime.

Since I am twenty-five now, I am nearing the end of my training. Soon I and the others will leave this world and move on. I hope we will go to a world of light, instead of this muddy and dark one. Even more I am excited to see my brother Tom and his friend Sam. Since they left last year I realize more than ever, how much I depend on their teasing to keep me from being bored in this life.

Breakfast is over now, and we clear our plates, moving on to the training gym. As year twenty-fives we are no longer training ourselves, we stopped training in year twenty-two and our job now is to train the other years. Today I am working with the year seventeens. I hate working with the year seventeens. They don’t like me and they are always shoving me down.

There is only one person here, that is older than the rest of us. A man called Garretch. I don’t know how old he is, perhaps forty or forty-five. He lives in a mansion outside of our barracks. It always has lights on, even on the days when the black light stays off to save power.

He only comes out to talk to us from his balcony, when there’s been a power outage, or a riot. The year seventeens and eighteens like to start riots sometimes. Once I was even in one, because Tom and Sam dragged me with them.  When they lived here I used to do lots of things.

At the end of today, I get to leave. Once and for all. Maybe I can go to my world of light. Right now I have to focus on staying away from a pair of year seventeen boys who think it is funny to force me into the corner and dump mud on my head before they case my braid in it. In this situation, all I can do is run.  Stupid year seventeens.

Four hours later, I get off work and go wash the mud from my braid. After that I am to report to the mansion. Garretch will be showing us how to get to our next jobs. Information about these jobs is little, or even none. I still don’t know what I’ll be doing. As long as I get to see Tom and Sam again that’s fine though.

Garretch tells us to walk through a door, into the light. What we do while we walk through the hall that follows is unmentionable. Then, we will start our new lives.

A few people before me, then it’s my turn. Take off my coveralls, put on something new, a pair of shorts and a tank top–I feel underdressed–then grip the door knob. Feel the sweat of the person before me. They must have been even more nervous than me. The door knob is nearly soaked.

“Myrial Jinks would you hurry up please???” Garretch taps his foot impatiently.

Here goes nothing. Turn the handle until the latch clicks. Walk through the door, and it shuts behind me. The hall goes dark. I don’t like the dark. I’ve seen too much of it. Keep walking. Don’t freak out.

I curse when I hit a wall. Feel along it to find where I am. There’s a handle on it. Not a wall, a door. Open the door. Click. The hall floods with light and I step into my new life, meeting the outstretch fingers of my brother and friends that left last year.

About Jinx

I'm a writer, what else is there to tell?

16 thoughts on “Inspiration Monday XVI

  1. that was very good, jinx, it held my attention from first word to last.

    good job.

    marantha

  2. Kay Camden says:

    Yep, I was there with her. It looks long if you scroll the page, but it reads very fast. I always love that.

  3. pianolover1114 says:

    Stories we (writers) think are weird buy they (readers) think are really good. It’s everywhere, my last post, I thought was very strange and pointless. Everybody else liked it.
    You’re always telling me how weird this piece is but I, and all your blog followers I imagine, love this piece. I agree with marantha, it’s better than attention grabbing, it’s attention demanding.

  4. jinx, your brother is right. this piece reaches out and pulls you in from the first word to the last. your muse wasn’t whispering the day you wrote this, she was using a megaphone with bass amps right in your ear! and girl, you listened good!

    also, i noticed your brother doesn’t have a little image for himself, one of the little gravatar thingahoochies. well, if he would be interested, tell him to go to this page…. http://www.dracaelynsdreams.com/wordpress-artwork.html on my personal website and pick himself out one…or two…or as many as he likes…from the ones on that page that i created specifically for those of you here on wordpress.

    and you can use them too, they are one hundred percent free, a gift from me to all of you. some of the “blogger awards” are on there too, as well as the inmon icons.

    hugs, sweetie, to you and your brother both, you both have so much talent for being so young.

    marantha

  5. also, if you would be interested, i would be honored to have you as a guest of my own blog.

    just contact me at my secondary email address…words2ponder@gmail.com as to when it would be convenient for you. i’m not sure how to go about it, but i would love to have you both as guests.

    by the way, i would like to present you and your brother both with an award i created myself for my wordpress family. simply click on the link that follows and then save it to your computer, after which you can upload it into a blog to show everyone that someone thinks you both are super bloggers….’CAUSE YOU ARE!

    cyber hugs!

    marantha

    • pianolover1114 says:

      Thankyou so much marantha! I already have a piece in mind, I’ll email you… Uh… Sometime. Soon. Anyway, I can’t thankyou enough! Cyberhugs, PL.

  6. Jinx says:

    Thank you guys. =)
    I really miss all of my scribbles, but with the way I’ve been so busy between summer, my homework, and my actual book, the poor things are suffering. Oh well. They’ll revive eventually.
    I would love to guest post sometime, although I’m not sure what I would post. I’ll try to email you soon, but I am very busy all of next week with my birthday and with VBS at my church.

  7. JINX AND PIANOLOVER…DON’T FORGET TO GET YOUR BLOGGER AWARDS, THEY ARE BOTH ON THE PAGE I SET UP FOR YOU, JINX. ALL YOU WILL HAVE TO DO IS RIGHT CLICK ON THE IMAGE, OPEN IN NEW WINDOW, THEN COPY THE URL IN THE ADDRESS BAR, OR SIMPLY GO TO “FILE” ON YOUR BROWSER, OPEN IT, THEN CHOOSE “SAVE PAGE AS”, CHOOSE WHERE YOU WANT TO PUT IT, WHAT YOU WANT TO NAME IT (BE SURE TO WRITE THE FILE NAME LIKE THIS… FILE NAME.jpg SO THAT IT WILL SAVE AS A JPG IMAGE), THEN IT IS READY TO USE ON YOUR BLOGS.

    ALSO, I HAVE A PAGE SET UP ON MY PERSONAL WEBSITE THAT HAS ALL OF THE INMON BADGES I CREATED, ALL OF THE BLOGGER AWARDS I CREATED, AND A BUNCH OF LITTLE ICONS YOU CAN USE FOR WHATEVER YOU WANT TO. (I USE THEM FOR EACH OF THE LINKS TO THOSE I AM SUBSCRIBED TO ON MY OWN BLOG. EACH LINK HAS A DIFFERENT DESIGN) ALSO, THERE ARE LITTLE “COMMENT” ICONS ON THE PAGE AS WELL. ALL OF THEM ARE ABSOLUTELY FREE, AS I CREATED THEM ESPECIALLY TO SHARE WITH MY WORDPRESS FAMILY.

    HERE IS THE LINK TO THE PAGE WITH THE THINGS I JUST MENTIONED…

    http://www.dracaelynsdreams.com/wordpress-artwork.html

    AND ALSO THE LINK TO THE PAGE WHERE I PUT JINX’S SURPRISE…

    https://1wordywoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/19/happiest-birthday-wishes-jinx/

    WISHING YOU BOTH THE BEST AND KEEP ON WRITING!

    CYBER HUGS!

    MARANTHA

  8. pianolover1114 says:

    Marantha, did you get my email? I sent it but it gave me an error message, so I was wondering if you got it.

  9. Mike says:

    I enjoyed this Jinx.
    I love the idea of ‘Years 17-25’ it makes you wonder what they are being trained for. Certainly scope here for this story to be expanded.

  10. pianolover1114 says:

    It’s like city of ember mixed with the giver.

  11. pattisj says:

    Good job of keeping it moving along. Can’t wait for the rest of it…

    • Jinx says:

      Yeah, well, maybe….I really don’t have a big picture vision for it right now. Who knows though, maybe I’ll work on it some day!

Leave a Reply

