The Journey

A piece for both Sunday Picture Press and Inspiration Monday. Because I am a terribly lazy person and didn’t submit an individual piece for each.

~

In and out of time, sailing the stars. Nothing meeting everything. Galaxies and their histories floated by without a second thought. Information to be learned, but never kept.

Keeping information here was considered greed. Here no one took their findings back with them. Only death waited for those who ferreted away information. Death and his horse were ever-present to punish those who try to steal away the precious secrets of the universe. They were the things better left unsaid and unknown.

So they said to keep wandering. Through space and time into the next leg of the journey. The forest path that had to be travelled. Past creeks, hollows, branches, animals; whatever they might have been, they continued. Never stop.

The path ran past a terrible place. Nightmares slipped through the barriers of minds to lurk here. Each one to be faced. None of them to be left undreamt. They were created, like fear, only to haunt mankind. All of them. Every single one finds its home here, in the voyage of the undead.

Paths wound into tunnels, running into avenues of white. White walls, white doors, the ones that cast a blue shadow. Each door whispered. Calling promises of truth and home.

The command came. Pick the door. Each hesitated on his chosen handle. Gave it a slow turn. Then cracked it open and allowed light to flood in. Shouts to ring through the alley when loved ones recognized their long awaited friends and families. Long awaited in their return.

About Jinx

I'm a writer, what else is there to tell?

10 thoughts on “The Journey

  1. So many great lines in this. “Each door whispered” is probably my favorite.

    A tad different from your usual, and still fantastic, of course!

    • Jinx says:

      Haha yeah I wasn’t sure what tense I wanted to write it in when I started, and I kinda wanted it to be a part of a coma, but I’m not sure if that would work. Where I thought I would use it didn’t work in first person, which is what I thought would be the best fit for the piece so it was a big debate. I had to fix it up after I drafted.

      Thanks for the read and comment!

  2. swimmerchic23 says:

    Amazing as usual, Jinx. Glad to see you’re up and scribbling again. =)

  3. Indigo Spider says:

    This was almost like a poem, each sentence felt lyrical, I liked it a lot! I particularly like the lines “nothing meeting everything” and “Nightmares slipped through the barriers of minds to lurk here.” Fantastic!

  4. Very nice, Jinx. I like the ‘death and his horse’ concept…which in other writings is a biblical thought.

    Great job!

  5. Pink Woods says:

    Wow, this is beautifully written, and I love reading this…and reading it out loud!

  6. Kay Camden says:

    Ditto what everyone else said. And.. that first line sold me. The rest could have been gibberish and I’d still love it for that first line.

Leave a Reply

