Breaking Into Prison

Well, I’m finally back! I have a life again. Or, no life again. Anyway, that’s a good thing. I have time to write now. In the last three days I’ve written 5,000 words on a random piece I came up with on an overnight epiphany.
Enough rambling, this post is for my piece for Inspiration Monday this week:
Breaking Into Prison
On the outside looking in.
Constant noise, indistinguishable from a distance. Never ending whispers, gossipy conversations. One wrong step could ruin anybody. Imprisoned in their world of requirements and fettered by their lies. ‘It’s all fake,’ someone says. But they’re wrong. This is very real. The liars who created this world are so caught in it that they’ve become exactly what they say they are. Just remember, everything comes at a cost.
When you look away, it’s easy to remember why you hate them all. Consumed with their own appearance of perfection. You and I don’t look away often though. Looking away means tearing your eyes off the utopia they represent, and returning your gaze to the hell they live.
Getting in among them isn’t hard. Drift along the sidelines being perfect until someone notices you. They devour a chance to be like you, because you and I still appear perfect to them. They need your perfection as much as we need air.
Don’t fall for their lies.
Breaking into prison is easy.
Getting out is the hard part.
About Jinx

I'm a writer, what else is there to tell?

7 thoughts on “Breaking Into Prison

  1. Janece says:

    🙂 Very nice! It has sort of an ‘otherworldly’ feel to it. And yet, I could actually sense a realness about it. Like when I was a kid looking from the outside in, at all the ‘cool’ kids. Or even now, when I look at the political landscape of the U.S. Nice take on the prompt!

  2. scribbla says:

    Wecome back! This almost felt to me like angels deciding whether or not they wished to become human.

  3. Definitely makes me think of the “cool” kids, too. The insufferable elite, who everybody wants to be like, but the constant walking on eggshells chokes them. And their shallowness overtakes them.

    Beautiful work. Welcome back!!!

  4. Jinx says:

    Scribbla – Not what I was thinking but that would be really cool to write about!

    Thanks guys, I really appreciate it. I’ve got some plans for this thing.

  5. Robin Hawke says:

    The ambiguity was perfectly balanced: I went to all the places in the comments above. What was remarkable: by the end, I was content even though the ambiguous “who are they?” was never definitively answered. Robin

Leave a Reply

