Comfortable Cages – Inspiration Monday

Great prompts this week on Inspiration Monday! I’m out sick right now so I jumped at the break from my boredom. Anyway, here you guys go, I’d love thoughts/criticism/comments, whatever. (:

*****

Comfortable Cages

My life is simple. Perfect actually. I’ve never been hungry, never been hurt, and never seen the other side of these bars.

Sometimes, it’s a boring life – perfection has a way of doing that to you – but it’s comfortable. They tell me I’m crazy for wanting to leave. Who would want to experience pain and hunger when you have all this? They say. Under my breath I always whisper, Me. That’s who.

Am I ungrateful like they say? Does my discontent just show that I don’t deserve the life I’ve been handed? I promise I don’t mean to be this way. I’ve tried to stop questioning the things that are supposed to be gifts. My curiosity may always be my curse, but I do try to fight it.

They can call me strange, they’re right, anyone can see that. I do feel bad, but this place is wrong. Humans are not meant for this. Perfection leaves us without a reason. Here, I have no reason to get up every morning. Here, I have no reason to live. Comfortable cages leave us all with no purpose. I can’t live this way.

About Jinx

I'm a writer, what else is there to tell?

9 thoughts on “Comfortable Cages – Inspiration Monday

  1. scribbla says:

    Great interpretation of the prompt. Almost has a spiritual undertone to it.

  2. Nice! I like how it builds up as it goes. I feel like something big is about to happen.

  3. Robin Hawke says:

    I love the “under the breath” …enriches the conflict, Robin

  4. Interested to know more about this character 🙂
    This prompted me to give you something. Check this out:
    http://thewriteproject.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/waking-up-from-writers-coma/

  5. Jinx says:

    Thank you guys! (:
    The character is kinda me…..sort of. This is one of my many ‘journals’ turned scribble. I do these a lot when I need to think. Sometimes there’s a character behind them, sometimes not. This one’s in the middle.

  6. I really enjoy your writing and I have nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award. This award is given to blogs with less than 200 followers who deserve a little recognition, and I think that you definitely deserve it.

    There are a few simple rules that go along with the award. They are as follows:

    1. Give a shout out to the blogger who nominated you by linking back to their blog.

    2. Nominate five other blogs that have less than 200 followers.

    3. Spread the good blog karma.

    Lastly, don’t forget to add the Liebster Blog Award image to your post. Best wishes.

  7. Hey Jinx; pianolover: haven’t heard from y’all in a while and was wondering how you’re doing. Hope everything’s okay…I’m guessing school’s keeping you busy. ; )

Leave a Reply

